Enabling, Adjust and/or Disable Customer Alerting Services

Audience: IT Support Staff

When used: Enabling, Adjusting or Disabling Alerting service for customers.


Understanding Notification Levels

The notification level determines when notifications go out to a user. A level of -1 indicates standard notification, which means the series of "first alert", "second alert", and "success".

Level 0 is undefined. Levels 1 through 9 indicate the level at which alerts go out. For example, if the level is set to 4, the user would receive the 4th alert (if the service was in failure condition long enough for it to get to a 4th alert). The user would then get a "success" notification once the service was again found to be available. No other alerts would go out to the user (e.g., no 3rd alert, no 5th alert).

If the alert level of the service never reaches the notification level of the user, then no notification is sent, and no "success" message is sent. For example, if a user's notification level is 5, and a service fails 3 check cycles, and the service then recovers for the 4th check cycle, no alert will be sent to the user and no "success" message will be sent to the user after the service is back on-line.

The notification level is stored in the "notlevel" field of the table "notification".

Note that the timing of notification is affected by the monitoring interval. For example, a third alert will go out more quickly with 5 minute monitoring than for 15 minute monitoring.

Setting Notification Levels

The customer can set up who receives notification via the “Notification Center” section of their account. As noted above, the default level will be set by the customer.

** Notify levels: -1 (Default)

Records of Alerts

There are three places to look for records of alerts.

  1. notifySummary is a table that shows what was sent. As of now, the table contains 11 days worth of alerts.
  2. After that time, alerts are dumped out to a text file, so you can check there for alerts older than 11 days. The files are called notify.<YYMMDD> and located in /home/vwpoint/viewPoint/var.

  3. The mail log will contain a record of email sent with the alert; look at "/var/log". NOTE: ROOT permission is required to read the mailog file.

  4. Create a join of the notificationsummary, notification and subservice tables and dump the output to a file for analysis.

Customer Alerting Services (last edited 2011-08-11 19:39:57 by Bryce Camp)